Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > General Forum for cats and dogs

Old January 10th, 2007, 10:15 PM
Young at Heart

Introducing a new cat

I have never done this before so any and all suggestions would be welcome. I have Shadow, a 3-yr old male rumpy Manx X (probably Siamese) who, in the past, has been a bit of a bully. Yesterday I brought home the sweetest little female stumpy Manx - the spitting image of Shadow - coal black with a tiny white bib. Maddie, the stumpy, is temporarily living in my bedroom - isolated from Shadow and my two Goldens except at night - the Goldens sleep in the bedroom with Maddie and me. I plan on keeping her in the bedroom until she shows more confidence with the dogs and the new sounds and smells and such then give her the run of the house (with all other animals absent) then introduce Shadow and her.

Does anyone have any comments that will help?

She was neutered yesterday so I'll wait to post pictures when everything improves..
Old January 10th, 2007, 10:29 PM
Senior Contributor

I am going to tell you what I usually do with new cats that have come in..keep her in the bedroom with the door closed and let the other sniff under the door. There will be hissing and spitting

After a month I opened the door ( it could be longer) let the cat stay in the room. The others may come in but at this point the new cat feels safe in the room and can retreat in her hiding places.

You can leave the door open and put up a baby gate so that the others can not come in. The new cat needs to feel like she can always run back to the safety of the room. Keep her food and litter in that room. She will decide when to go out

Then let nature take its course...let them introduce themselves...sniff, hissing will happen but once the pecking order has been established all will run smoothly...at least we hope...good luck

Don't force it. Let them do it the kittie way