Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old August 13th, 2004, 10:20 PM

I cant believe what my puppy did

We have had him for about two weeks now and he has only had an "accident" in the house a couple of times. On those occasions he did it only on a blanket that we had laid out for him. He has been going outside very well and we are walking him 4 times a day .

Well tonight he defecated and peed ALL OVER OUR BED !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He has never done anything like this before , he had actually just come in from a walk as well. He not only peed once he peed three times in three different spots. Our mattress is soaked right through Im so frustrated right now because i have no idea where were going to sleep tonight.

I also got very mad at puppy ( which i have never done before ) , I took him to the mess and told him No Shame on you in an angry tone , i also tapped his nose a couple of times. Honestly i dont know if he got the picture though.

Why would he do this???? It seems like his behaviour is actually getting worse the longer we have him.

We took his bed out of our room and put it in his crate maybe he was upset about that??

Ive also been practising the whole "ill be back routine" , going through the ritual of leaving so he gets used it.

Please help me understand why he would do something like this??
Old August 13th, 2004, 10:24 PM

your puppy misses you........revenge...........pee on the bed works every time. try starting the training all over again and him him in his crate when you leave he will get the message.........I hope
Old August 13th, 2004, 11:12 PM

Whoa...

Well I have no idea why he did that...

BUT

Hang in there!! Right now your really upset but in times like this ( and I know how you feel because I have a 10.5 week old ) think about the happiness he has brought to the family....and it'll help lighten the situation.