Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old August 31st, 2008, 10:13 AM
Senior Contributor

Help with training my stubborn yorkshire terrorist!

Yep, yep, yep! Is she EVER stubborn. I know shes just a puppy, but OMG. I have taught her to sit, give paw and lie down(She'll only do that when theres a treat dangling over her head) Im A first time dog owner, and this is my first time training a dog. I Dont knopw how to train her to Stay, or to come. I really need to teach her these things because i really want to do agility with her (she would be peerfect for agility, Shes REAALLLYY smart, and catches on quick [I taught her to lie down in litterally 5 minutes, give paw took a day and sit took about 2 days] But shes too darn stubborn). I think ive made a huge mistake by letting her off leash when outside, She doesnt go very far away from me, but when i tell her to come, She doesnt even look at me, she just continues licking the grass, and i clap my hands, whistle, just about everything, but i cant get her attention! I loose my patience with her and i Yell, then i go pick her up and bring her inside. I know I shouldnt yell, but sometimes its just unbearable. I Need help, And please dont request i inroll her in obediance classes. Because its not possible, I would have to make a 4 hour drive just to get to one, then id have to drive 4 hours to get home, so that is out of the question. What do i do?!

Jessica and keely ()
Jasper - White cat

R.I.P Casey #1.
Gone but never ever forgotten.
Old August 31st, 2008, 10:55 AM
Magical Mystery Tour

A terrier puppy - yep, that's a recipe for stubborn! Puppy brain mixed with terrier determination - lol!