Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time!

Old June 26th, 2007, 09:12 PM

Delicate question about my cat.......

Hi folks! This is my first time at this site, and I'm very excited about having found it!!
Ok...this question is kind of gross, and I didn't see it in the archives, so I have to ask.
I have a big orange house cat. He is about 11 years old, and he is a 16 pound fur ball.
Today he was smelling soooo gross. I looked under his tail, and everything was fine (you know what I mean). I decided that he just needed a bath, but I'm telling you his smell was disgusting!
I'M SORRY FOR THE GROSSNESS OF THE QUESTION, BUT HERE GOES:
When I was able to look at his anus, it looked like there were black-headed worms on it. They weren't moving. It could have been old fecal matter, but I don't think so. They very much looked like dead worms. I saw a small black one make it's way back into my cat's rectum, at least that's what I thought I saw.
I also saw that he has two boils, or what looks like boils that broke open. They were whitish, and looked like they were infected. He had one on each side of his anus.
Does anyone know what this is and what to do about it? I should tell you that his appetite has not been normal for several weeks. He will mostly lick the gravy of his food, and stay away from the rest of it.
I hope someone can help me. I don't know if this is a serious situation or not.
Thanks~
Old June 26th, 2007, 10:34 PM
Crazy Cat Lady N Training