Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old January 11th, 2006, 04:06 PM

Separation anxiety getting worse-need some help

My one and half year old miniature poodle has had fairly bad separation anxiety for a while now. He isn't destructive, but he cries extremely loud and for a really long time. We have talked to the vet about it and they put him on medication which doesn't have much of an effect. I started training him about a week ago with a method I saw for severe separation anxiety where you start with just putting on your coat, then moving on to going to the door, then opening the door, working up to getting outside and staying away for different intervals. We're still working on the stage where I can get my coat and keys without him whining and getting upset. For the past few weeks he has started to get worse. He started with once in a while pooping on the floor when someone came home, mainly me. Now he has pooped when I put my coat on once to take out the trash. Today he pooped after I went upstairs to get a towel and he pooped on the floor as I came back down. He even came upstairs with me. He is litter trained and learned to go poop in the litter before he learned to urinate there. He knows he shouldn't be doing it too because he automatically puts his ears down and his tail between his legs after he does it. I'm starting to get frustrated and I know the other people in my house are really frustrated about it so I really need some help.
Old January 11th, 2006, 04:24 PM
-

Dogs don't necessarily know that what they did was wrong. What they do is read your body language and if you appear to be upset or mad about something and they have been in trouble at least once they will automatically think it is them and you see the ears and tail.
Old January 12th, 2006, 10:13 AM
Agility Addict

Is your poodle getting enough exercise?! Have you done any obedience training with him?