Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Off topic forum > Tech talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 26th, 2005, 03:44 PM
Lucky Rescue Lucky Rescue is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10,287
Need help!

Great new forum Marko - especially for the techno-challenged like me!

I got a new computer this summer. Since I've had it, I cannot get onto either PayPal or Amazon.

If I try, all I get is "Page not found" screen. Even links to these sites that are on other sites do not show up for me. I just see a red X.

I"m stumped. Any suggestions or guesses??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 26th, 2005, 04:44 PM
dmc123's Avatar
dmc123 dmc123 is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 1,600
Deb,

Are those the only sites you've tried that you can't get to?

I googled your issue, here's some things you might try:

http://groups.google.com/group/micro...53bfb4410a386b

http://groups.google.com/group/micro...ad2491a759a7ca

Not sure those will address your issue directly...worth a try.

Any firewalls or spyblockers running on your machine?

Diane
__________________
A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.
-Josh Billings
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 26th, 2005, 11:24 PM
Lucky Rescue Lucky Rescue is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10,287
OH THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!! The "host" thing worked.

I really appreciate this. It's been driving me nuts!!

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 27th, 2005, 02:24 PM
dmc123's Avatar
dmc123 dmc123 is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 1,600
I am so glad it helped! Thanks for letting me know.

Diane
__________________
A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.
-Josh Billings
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 30th, 2005, 12:08 PM
Lucky Rescue Lucky Rescue is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10,287
Just want to add: If anyone else cannot access certain sites, go to the link provided by dmc123.

When you open your "host" file, if there is anything after

127.0.0.1 localhost

delete it, then go to "file" and save the edited host file.

Something malicious on my computer put a ton of antivirus sites on the host file so I couldn't access them. Why Paypal was included, I have no idea.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 30th, 2005, 08:57 PM
jawert1 jawert1 is offline
PeachesnSimon'sMamma
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,362
Actually LR, I can tell you why End of summer/early fall a new type of botnet program was released to the wild that spoofed Paypal and Ebay (amongst many others), meaning you would be presented with the bad guy's version of the addy (which was absolutely malicious) but not the real one. You may want to use Spybot Search and Destroy (freeware found on download.com) and/or Ad-Aware by Lavasoft (also freeware found on download.com). Both of these programs are known good and the company I work for packaged them on their free trial CD's after partnering with them for distribution. The botnet has not yet gone away unfortunately, but if you keep your machine clean you shouldn't have to worry about it coming back to haunt you (or any other nastys). Good luck and GREAT subgroup!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 30th, 2005, 11:19 PM
Lucky Rescue Lucky Rescue is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10,287
Wow, thanks! I had no idea about all this!

I do have Ad-Aware and Symantec antivirus, which has picked up a few malicious spywares.

I also just downloaded Winpatrol, which also checks to see if anything is added to the "host" file AND ran the Housecall from Trend Micro which found 48 spies, but they were not malicious.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 1st, 2005, 08:31 AM
jawert1 jawert1 is offline
PeachesnSimon'sMamma
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,362
As a general rule, you may want to run Spybot or Ad-aware and Norton once a week. Unfortunately my job requires me to be up on all the latest virus/malware outbreaks and while for a normal user this might be a paranoid approach, once a week has kept my machines all up and running smoothly. When you got your computer, did it come with Norton already activated or just installed? Some comp. manufacturers install anti-virus software (McAfee or Norton) but you have to fork over the bucks for it to actually work properly (quite the racket if you ask me)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Terms of Use

  • All Bulletin Board Posts are for personal/non-commercial use only.
  • Self-promotion and/or promotion in general is prohibited.
  • Debate is healthy but profane and deliberately rude posts will be deleted.
  • Posters not following the rules will be banned at the Admins' discretion.
  • Read the Full Forum Rules

Forum Details

  • Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
    Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    vBulletin Optimisation by vB Optimise (Reduced on this page: MySQL 10.00%).
  • All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.