Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time!

Old March 17th, 2005, 02:04 PM

Sore paw

Hi, my name is Janet, I am new to this so please be patient.
I have a cat...Stray is his name, he came to us about 2 years ago. While he has become somewhat tame, he is still a little on the wild side. The other day he ripped one of his claws out and it has since become infected. What can I use on it to help him? I have tried to put him in a vehicle but it terrifies him and to try to put him in a cage, I would need a blood transfusion!
If anyone has any suggestions, I would be thankful.
Old March 17th, 2005, 02:15 PM
And Zoodle's Mom!

Hi Janet

Your cat will need antibiotics ASAP for his infection and may be a good idea to see a vet. I had a similar situation this winter with a cat I found and the first round of antibiotics didn't help because the infection was further up the toe than the vet first thought!

Here is a suggestion to get him in a carrier - When cats are frightened, they like to hide. While holding the cat and cuddling him (if he allows this), just cover his eyes with your hand or allow the cat to put his face under your arm. This may help calm him down a little. Or what about trying to put a blanket or towel on him and then put him in a carrier? If he's really difficult try using a bigger carrier that is easier getting him into it!

Most cats are terrified of car rides but they can really bluff too!
Old March 17th, 2005, 02:17 PM
And Zoodle's Mom!

Has he been neutered and vaccinated before??
Old March 17th, 2005, 03:02 PM

If you cannot handle the cat without getting ripped to shreds, then ask your vet for a 1/2 sedative tab to calm him down a bit. Not enough to knock him out, but just enough to make him a bit more manageable.