Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time!

Old June 11th, 2003, 12:41 AM

Question Pregnant cat?

Hi, I am new to this, but I have a quick question. My cat, a strictly indoor, 9-year-old, got out of the house about a month and a half ago and stayed out all night. Her belly has gotten bigger, she constantly craves attention now, and she seems to be steadily sleeping in one particular spot.
The thing is- according to a normal cats gestation period, she should be giving birth in 2-4 weeks. And her belly isn't THAT big. I mean.. it's big. It's bigger than before, I'm sure of it. But I would think that it would be huge if there were like, 3 or 4 kittens in there. How big are newborn kittens? And should I be feeling lumps in her belly? I tried to feel it earlier this morning, but she was very edgy and hissed when I tried to squeeze her belly. How can I know for sure if she is pregnant?!?

Thanks!
Kelly
Old June 11th, 2003, 08:37 AM

While true that cats can have up to 8 kittens, some may only have 1 or 2. And if she is still 4 weeks away from delivery, then she's only half way through. Are her nipples enlarged? The closer you are to delivery, the bigger they get.

You'd only be able to feel the fetus' if you knew what you were looking for, and counting would be hard because you wouldn't know if you were feeling the same fetus twice.

Has she been in for a check up? I would take her, just to make sure everything is alright. Now and maybe right before delivery.

Pachiz
Old June 11th, 2003, 08:59 AM

Dear Pachiz.
Actually, my cat has never been to the vet. I am a little worried about going and having them be really mean to me because she has never been seen by a doctor. But I suppose I should take her in.

So if she is only having 1 or 2 kittens, her belly probably won't be that big, right?