Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Other pet critters - Birds, fish, rabbits, reptiles, rodents and exotics > Fish

Old May 18th, 2010, 11:59 AM

Pond life

I'm considering giving my three ex-feeder comet goldfish to someone with a well established pond. They are living in a 33 gallon tank, it is being filtered with a huge filter because the tank is too small for them, so I think that it would be nice for them to live in a big happy pond, but, I feel totally sad and guilty to let them go. I don't want them to die... Am I making the right choice?

I know they're "just goldfish" and they don't really care about me, but I care about them, it's just not in my budget to upgrade my tank right now....

:
Old May 18th, 2010, 12:16 PM

I'm not a fish expert or anything, but my friend's parents had the same goldfish in their pond for years. So certainly they can survive in a pond if taken care of properly!

Because we lived in a area that got very cold in the winter, they would take the goldfish in for those months. They never seemed to mind the transition though... and the fish grew amazingly huge! Hahah.

Good luck with it!
Old May 18th, 2010, 12:31 PM

I would love for them to grow huge and old I don't think that I could buy a 100 gallon tank to accomodate that, unfortunately. I would make a pond, but my yard is tiny and my dogs would probably try to catch them/bathe in their water.
Old May 18th, 2010, 02:05 PM
Senior Contributor