Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Introduce yourself here - Say hello

Old December 30th, 2007, 05:41 PM

Greetings from egypt

Hello everyone, i'm Ahmed al garf. i from Cairo, Egypt (land of the pharaohs) and i have recently become a proud owner of a 4 months old st bernard, Elvis!
i've never owned a dog (or any other pet for that matter) before so im still brand new at this and i had a question.
i bought Elvis from a family i met over an internet site and i wasnt the only one interested in it so i had to act quickly, and i did. unfortunately i had to leave the country the next day (and i still havent gone back yet, im due back on the 9th of jan) so ive had no time what so ever to bond with him. i left him with my girlfriend untill i return and over the past week he's fallen completely in love with her. he follows her eveywhere to the point where she doesnt even have to put him on a leash when they go out. He even throws a fit when she goes out without him and will go around tearing up news papers and whatnot. i was wondering if the fact that im going to have to take him away from here going to affect my relationship with him. what should i do to make it easier for him and help me bond with him at the same time?
thanks in advance!
Old December 30th, 2007, 05:50 PM
The Pack's Head Servant
Chopper Challenge Champion, Mini KickUps Champion, Bugz Champion, Snakeman Steve Champion, Shape Game Champion, Mumu Champion, Mouse Race Champion

Hello, Ahmed. Welcome to the forum.

If I understand you correctly, you'll be taking Elvis from your girlfriend's house to yours when you get back? Being alone with you will make a big difference--you'll be feeding him and walking him and he'll start to focus on you. Make sure he gets plenty of attention, but also some consistent discipline, and he'll come around. And since he'll still see your girlfriend from time to time, he'll soon find he has the best of both worlds.