Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Cat health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time!

Old September 1st, 2008, 08:58 PM

Possibly dehydrated kitty?

A little back ground to begin with: I'm an engineering student who's recently moved back to college for her senior year. Back in May I adopted Jade from the local animal shelter with the intent that I would bring her back to school with me in the fall. Besides a slight respiratory infection that cleared up quickly she's been perfectly healthy.

Last Wednesday (27th of August) I left home with Jade in order to come back to school. It was a very long drive (9 hours) but Jaders and I made frequent stops for water and leg stretching and besides being ravenous when we were done (we arrived three hours after her usual dinner time) Jade seemed fine.

Thursday, Friday, and Saturday she's been just fine, eagerly exploring the new house and getting to know my new roommates who adore her as much as I do (they're spoiling her worse then I ever did too). Then, Sunday she started to get a little grumpy and lethargic. She's always been a little bit of a grumpy gus, but she bit me pretty hard when I scratched behind her ears while she was dozing. It didn't break skin or even leave a mark, but it still surprised me. I decided to blame the heat since we've moved into a house with no AC and it was very hot yesterday.