Old February 28th, 2006, 12:49 PM
Pheobe's Mom

Unhappy Josie

Hi all,
I am new to this posting thing so please bear with me. Two weeks ago I brought home a new puppy named Josie. She was the runt of a littler of Shih-Tzus and so cute and sweet. She weighed 1 lb and slept on my shoulder. Last Friday we took her for her 7 week check up and the vet told us she had hook worms and round worms and they dewormed her. That evening she started having diarrhea which the vet said may happen. On Saturday she was vomiting. My husband called me on Monday and said she wouldn't wake up and he was rushing her to the vet. I went with him. They said her blood sugar had dropped and her temp was 85 degrees. She was also loosing blood from somewhere not visible to us. They gave her glucose, a blood transfusion, and warmed her back up and sent her home with us. That evening I couldn't get the bleeding to stop from the transfusion site and she bled to death before we could get back to the vet. I am heartbroken and angry, but not at anyone, only the circumstances. Although I only had her for 1 week, she was still very much a big part of my family. The dewormer she was give was Drontal. If anyone has any information about this medication I would like to know. I have another puppy named Pheobe and I don't want to give it to her if it is harmful. Thank you!
Old February 28th, 2006, 01:03 PM
Senior Contributor