Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old March 1st, 2004, 06:20 PM

Unhappy Out of control poop

My little silky terrier had puppies a month ago. This is my first time ever dealing with puppies and a recovering mother. Here is the problem -my dog poops constantly all over the carpet! Most of the time it is by the door to go out and so that area is ruined. There is no rhyme or reason to her pooping either. She was completely trained prior to pregnancy and had only the occassional accident if I wasn't able to make it back from work until quite late. Now, I'll take her out and while I'm in the shower, she'll poop. Or she'll hold it all day like she did before. Her diet hasn't changed so I am lost.

Am I going to have to retrain her once the pups are gone? What do I do in the meantime? I work full-time and can't always make it home for lunch.

Please help!
Old March 1st, 2004, 06:26 PM
Sadie's Chefomatic

Maybe her diet needs to be changed now and get her spayed so she doesn't have another litter!!

How did she get pregnant to begin with?
Old March 1st, 2004, 07:14 PM
Senior Contributor

Since you are breeding, I'm assuming your bitch has been completely health tested and found to be perfectly healthy? What does your vet say about this problem?

Any sudden changes in behavior or loss of house training in a trained dog are reasons for a vet visit. Your dog may have internal damage associated with whelping.

Very small dogs like Silkies sometimes have problems with delivery, but I'm sure you already know that!
Old March 1st, 2004, 07:15 PM