Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Breed characteristics and traits

Closed Thread

Old July 15th, 2005, 02:54 PM
Dog is my co-pilot.

Adopted a PB from Vancouver animal shelter.

Hello, Im new here.

Last edited by Dag Sabot; July 17th, 2005 at 04:29 PM.
Old July 15th, 2005, 03:03 PM
Senior Contributor

I do not always know acronyms- what's a pb? Pit bull? Pure bred? (I was thinking cats when I responded sooo.. Persian something????)
Old July 15th, 2005, 04:14 PM
Senior Contributor

Well, Im no expert, but I do have an am staff, he is my first dog and is now six years old. He has never been in a fight but is toy possesive, that being said, you were asking for advice on curbing "prey drive" I was always told by his early trainers that exercise is the best way to give them a positive outlet for prey drive. My dog has always retrieved his Kong. He sees his kong as prey, not other animals. However I did end up with a toy possesive dog, but I think if I were more experienced in training, (mostly not Alpha enough at the time) that would have been dealt with as well. Im not from Vancouver, Im from Ont. were muzzling will be the law until we defeat it in court. Why do you feel that you need to muzzle your dog? Is he showing signs of agression? If so there are many here with much more experience than me for more serious problems. I guess theyll be along shortly and by the way, welcome to the board. Oh and BTW thanks for adopting a doggy from the shelter
Old July 15th, 2005, 04:17 PM
Sadie's Chefomatic

Congratulations on your adoption.

You may want to look into some obedience training in your area.

We love pictures here
Old July 15th, 2005, 04:33 PM
Senior Contributor

Hi, I"m in Montreal, but have a pit bull as well. I'm lucky in that my dog LOVES cats and all small animals, although she is somewhat intolerant of other dogs if they are rude or annoying. She is also a big time couch spud.