Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > General Forum for cats and dogs

Old April 6th, 2006, 09:10 AM

Best types of dog collars

Hi all. I'm new to the posting thing but have been reading all your great information for a while. My husband and I brought a rambunctious black lab into our family in late Sept 05. She's about 8 months now and is part horse - she's huge. I think it's time to get her a 'real collar'. I bought a trendy one with a buckle and I've noticed on two occasions that it's come undone. I'd like to get her another one but I'm wondering what kind you'd recommend.

Thanks for your help!
Old April 6th, 2006, 11:02 AM
Agility Addict

Other people will probably have better ideas - I chose Dodger's collar out of practicality!

Dodger's collar is by Remington and is totally water proof (it has a rubber coating over the nylon) - its called a Safety Dog Collar and has an "O" ring between the buckle...It is for sporting/hunting dogs and the theory is that the collar flips itself inside out if it gets snagged (not sure about this!)..If your dog pulls, I wouldn't recommend it...

Dodger was destroying his plain buckle/snap-on nylon collars because he was always walking through the creek or swimming, which is why I needed a waterproof collar!

Last edited by Lissa; April 6th, 2006 at 11:11 AM.
Old April 6th, 2006, 11:31 AM
Senior Contributor

with my dog, I use the flat wide nylon collars w/ a buckle. The training school I attend w/ my dog ONLY permits flat nylon collars (or harnesses), so this is what I stick with.

I've tried a coated one, but it rubbed my dog's fur right off his neck, and it wasn't on tight, I could fit 2-3 fingers. poor guy had a bald neck! so I went back to the nylon. My dog also has very thin fur, so I don't get the collars w/ gromits on the holes, or any "rough" spots.