Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog food forum > Feeding raw food to dogs & cats - B.A.R.F - RMB - Homecooked diet

Old December 7th, 2008, 12:19 PM
Sophie & Gretchen's Mom

How to figure quantities of raw to feed?

Hi there! I'm new to the raw diet, and have been lurking for awhile on the forum! Love all the great info!!!

I do have a question that I've have trouble answering - How to figure out how much to feed? I have 2 small dogs, one is 10lbs. and the other is 15lbs. I kind of want to do the "10 to 15% bones, -60% meat, -10% organs
-the rest is "other stuff" ie fish, eggs, grains & dairy if you choose to feed that, table scraps, etc" way that y'all have suggested, and I'm having trouble figuring the 1.5-2% body weight thing (never was too good at math )

Any help would be very much appreciated! I can't wait to start the girls on the raw diet!
Old December 7th, 2008, 01:24 PM
Senior Contributor

2% of 10lbs (0.02 x 10)=0.2lbs/day
2% of 15lbs (0.02 x 15)=0.3lbs/day

As for the proportions of bone:meatrgans, it doesn't have to be exact, those proportions are guidelines which try to simulate the proportions present in a whole animal.

In my experience, the best way to do it is to try and get as close to the appropriate proportions as possible, and keep an eye on the dog's stool, it can tell you a lot about whether or not you're getting enough/too much bone and/or organs. It's also good to remember that you don't need to get the perfect balance in each meal or each day, if you're giving your dog everything it needs over time.
Old December 7th, 2008, 02:50 PM

Yep PitGirl is right. Keep an eye on the dog and the stools. We have 3 on raw and they all react differently to it. All 3 of them are fed entirely different amounts because of their metabolism. They also get slightly different foods
Lovey - Female Fawn Boxer (RESCUE)
Anakin - Male Brindle Boxer (RESCUE)