Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old April 15th, 2015, 01:58 PM

Unhappy Beagle misbehaving

Hi all,

I'm new to this so I'm really hoping someone can shed some light on my situation.

I have two 4 year old beagles named Vinny and Stella (littermates). Overall, they are pretty good dogs, very energetic and so loving.

I live in Edmonton so most of the year we have quite a bit of snow on the ground. My dogs have no problem doing their business in the snow. But ever since the snow melted, they've both been acting a little strange. They seem to avoid the grass & tend to do their business in the bushes or they try to get under the deck to do it. When I take them for walks or to the dog park, they do their business wherever, but seem to avoid the grass in my backyard. Vinny has since gotten over the issue, but Stella hasn't.

I let her out and she just stands there - I know she has to go because it's morning time or after I've gotten home from work, but she refuses to go. I wait and wait and wait and she doesn't go, so I give up and let her in. That's when she proceeds to do her business in the house. She knows it's bad, she isn't happy about it but she still does it.

Has anyone had this problem? I don't know if it's something to do with the snow melting (crazy theory, I know), or if maybe she's suffering from something mental (separation anxiety etc). She's a very meek, gentile & docile dog - not like her brother. But I'm worried. I've since sent her to my mom's for a couple of days (who also has a dog) and she's doing all her business as usual outside with no issues whatsoever!

Strange situation, I know. Has anyone ever dealt with anything like this???

Thank you in advance.
Old April 15th, 2015, 04:13 PM
Senior Contributor