Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old June 22nd, 2011, 06:05 AM

house training question- Please help.

I had a dog when i lived in an apartment and she was trained after 1 month. ( was a mini schnauzer)
Now i have a different breed but i'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions. I'm still new to dog ownership, only has the other dog 4 months then the inlaws decided they loved her more.

Here is the info about my dog
DOB- Jan 20th 2011
Took her home April 10th 2011
Female
Breed- Wheaten Terrier

She doesn't pee in the crate or in the kitchen when gated. Sometimes she'll pee in excitement when we get home. Solution take her outside immediately then greet her.

But it's the peeing everywhere else in the house. She pees in the basement and poos.. and upstairs I have a back split she is usually on the main level doesn't pee there but goes up stairs and down stairs to go. I have a pretty good eye on her but she does sneak away.

I do have a cat. We caught the dog peeing the cat litter the other day.

So please help me with solutions. She isn't fixed yet as she isn't 6 months yet, but she will be fixed probably by 7 months though.

How to i get her to understand that upstairs and downstairs are also part of the "den"?

One last detail. I'm potty training a 2 year old so she occaisionally has an accident and i have a 6 month old so there are soiled diapers in the house. I'm just wondering if the scent of these guys might be throwing her off, I don't have a fancy diaper waste system.

Suggestions?
Old June 22nd, 2011, 08:34 AM
Mom of 3 precious Angels

I would reccomend tethering her to you at all times! this way you can observe her and take her out when needed. I would go back to the basics and start fresh. Outside every 2 hours at least, after meals and as soon as they wake up! You can use baby gates to keep her out of unwanted areas!

Good Luck
Sophie Aug 30, 2011