Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Introduce yourself here - Say hello

Old November 18th, 2006, 11:12 AM

Hi everyone!

Hello everyone, I'm new to this "forum" thing, so bear with me! I figured this would be a good place to get information and talk to people about my pets. So, I'll give you all a little background information....

I have a five year old Lhasa cross named Mocha. He's very needy and vindictive (sometimes), but he's my baby, and I like to cuddle with him every chance I get. Last February (?) he was having some severe pain, so naturally, I took him to the vet hospital (because pets don't get sick Monday to Friday, 8 to 5, right!). I thought he was constipated because his back was all hunched up, he had anorexia, and didn't have a bowel movement for at least a day. It turns out he has IVDD. So, I went home with some muscle relaxants and analgesics that cleared up the problem.

Fast forward to June. I was away on course in Nova Scotia from mid May to the end of June. I was thrilled to come home and see my 'boys' (Kris and Mocha). Two days later, Mocha started to lose the ability to control his rear legs, and started deficating in the house. The thing that scared me the most was the fact that I didn't think he knew he had lost the control of his bowels...I was devastated and promptly took him to our vet. After more X-rays, the vet told me that Mocha had one less lumbar vertebrae that he should (wierd!), and that his IVDD was flaring up. I was sent home with Metacam and instructions for strict kennel rest. So, for two and a half months (and weekly visits to the vet), I carried Mocha outside to relieve himself, and cuddled him on the couch with a warm bean bag on his back. Even my 'hard core' hubby was heart broken and did what he could to help out.