Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Breed characteristics and traits

Old July 14th, 2005, 12:53 AM
Love all creatures

Question HP and my pitbull

This might be in the wrong section? But here goes anyways:

I'm not sure if any of you are familiar with the method, but just in case you're not...this works really well for people:

Using hydrogen peroxide on a Qtip and brushing it over your teeth and gums. Kills more bacteria and whitens teeth, as well as disinfects gums...reduces chance of ging and stuff..

Ok well here's my question. I've been doing this to Messina for a few months now..once or twice a week max..after brushing her teeth...I'll do the same to her..I'll run a moist Qtip dipped in HP over the edge of her teeth where the tooth meets the gums...just to "disinfect" if you will..it also helps the healing process when her gums get a little irritated sometimes from the brush (every now and then they get tender).

Is this a bad thing to be doing? I know people use HP on dogs to induce vomitting..but she's never had a problem..I don't do it often, and I don't think its enough to harm her internally..but I could be wrong..that's why I'm asking for advice here..should I stop doing it? Is there anything I should know about HP and dogs in general?

Thanx guys..I know my questions are a bit odd at times, but its better to be safe then sorry...
Old July 14th, 2005, 06:33 AM
Senior Contributor

No question is too wierd and it shows that you take owning a pet seriously. I don't know but it generally seems safe for humans who of course can avoid swallowing so the disclaimer to that in bold would apply to a pet even more so: