Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Breed characteristics and traits

Old September 10th, 2004, 02:10 PM
MEMBER*

Smile Goldenphoo( mini golden phoo ? ) / mini Schnoodle

Hello,

this is my first time writing & need some input..... I am looking to getting a dog mid. Oct. I am looking at two breeds the golenphoo and the mini schnoodle ...... I would also love to know is there such thing as a mini goldenphoo ?????? anyways any feedback postive or negative on the breeds would be helpful... here is a little background on what i'm looking for ..... a family dog, but we don't have children as of yet !! BUT we do have two cats...just want a all round a good natured dog that is hypo allergenic ..... thanks in advance for any feedback you are able to provide..... & if anyone knows of some good breeders of the mini schnoodles / mini golenphoos if there is such a thing ?
Old September 10th, 2004, 02:30 PM

Parcc, this is just my personal opinion, so please take it or leave it as you see fit...

There is no such thing as a hypo-allergenic dog. There are some dogs to which you might react less than others, but it varies by dog (as Luba pointed out in another recent post ). If allergies are an issue, you should meet with the dog before adopting to ensure that particular dog isn't causing a reaction.

As for a "good" breeder of these types of mixes, I don't think there is such a person out there. IMHO, people who create these types of dogs are doing it solely for profit, which is NOT the mark of a good breeder. Check around - you will be charged upwards of $1200 for a mixed-breed dog that cannot be registered! And if the breeder is not a "good" breeder, the pup will most likely wind up with health issues as well.