Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Helping cats and dogs - Adoption - Rescue - Fostering - Lost & found > Foster talk - Rescue talk - NO listings please

Old November 23rd, 2004, 08:22 PM

Question After the last heartbreak... seeking advice FIRST

Hi Guys,
After having our last adoption fall through at the last minute due to questionable rescue.... I am doing my research first!!! I do have a couple of questions for you all, as I am still a Newbie with the whole rescue thing.
I found a listing on petfinder in NY state (western), I live within 40minutes of there.... but I am in Ontario....
The rescue is called "Paws of Gold Pedigree Feline Rescue" however they also have numerous dogs listed on Petfinder. The adoption price is $450US for a Boston Terrier. (not sure re spay or vetting... but will find out for sure before I proceed any further!!)
I am also going to read up on how to find the right rescue, and make sure it is actually a rescue... I believe it is on this site somewhere....
Any input, comments, advice is very much appreciated..... I am not walking into this one blinded by my heart!!LOL
Thanks in advance
Old November 23rd, 2004, 08:59 PM
Senior Contributor

I"m kind of curious about their adoption fees. They say the purebred puppies/dogs are 450.00$ yet for a mixed breed, they say:

Quote:
Brock is a Boston Terrier/ Corgi cross male puppy, adorable and very handsome! His adoption fee is $350 due to the cost of rescuing him
I don't understand that.
Old November 23rd, 2004, 09:06 PM

Will they let you adopt even though you are from Canada? Many orgs in the US seem to want to keep the dog within the state...
Old November 23rd, 2004, 09:07 PM