Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog food forum > Feeding raw food to dogs & cats - B.A.R.F - RMB - Homecooked diet

Old April 20th, 2007, 10:01 AM

My official introduction and a qustion

I just wanted to say hi to everyone here and I am so glad I found an active forum for this. I orignally looked into feeding a BARF diet to a year old lab that I had raised for Leader Dogs for the Blind. He was "Career Changed" because they said he had Diabetes Insipidus. By the time I got him back from LD I was living in a small appartment that was completly carpeted with no yard and I was a college student with very little money and I was told that his condition would be very expensive to treat and hard to control. Thankfully I had a good friend of the family who really wanted one of the puppies we raised and they worked at a vet to boot so now Ruger lives happily with them. By they way, I did find out that it was not so difficult to treat or expensive in his case. Any way I has been years since I thought about a BARF diet and the lately a friend and I have been talking about dog food and all of the crap that is going on and now it seem that even the "good" food is no longer "safe" (Natural Balance is doing a voluntary recall on all of it's venison formula) and that neither of us can find a food that we are completly satisfied with as far as ingredents go. I am so fed up that I should do it myself. Atleast that way I have more knowlege about the quality of the ingredents that goes in to my pet's food. I plan on switch all of my kids over soon but I have to figure out where I am going to get my meat and bones form so I can ensure I have a fairly constant supply. I have 2 dogs, John Doe a 14 year old mountain cur, who acts like he is about 4 years old and still looks like a pup and Buddy who is the newest member of the family a pit bull/lab who came to us a few months ago from a friend just before he passed away. Bu