Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Helping cats and dogs - Adoption - Rescue - Fostering - Lost & found > Foster talk - Rescue talk - NO listings please

Old January 26th, 2005, 01:37 PM

Question to Rescues and Foster Homes.....

I am new to this board and I have a question for the foster homes out there.

Firstly, I will tell you a little about me. I have been fostering for 6 years for the SPCA. I love doing it, and it has been the most rewarding 6 years of my life.

With the SPCA, all medical treatment is paid for and food too, if you want to feed their brands. Personally, I like a higher quaility of dog food, so I buy my fosters Nutro Natural Choice out of my own pocket.

I recently offered to foster for a rescue group that is in dire need of foster homes. They did the home visit and were thrilled. They want me to start right away and take in 2 dogs that need a lot of medical attention.

Other foster homes for this particular rescue have emailed me and said they are not very happy, as they have $600.00 + vet bills that they paid for out of their pockets, and have not been re-imbursed. The rescue owner's are telling them it could take up to 8 weeks to be re-imbursed, or longer if the funds are not there. However, the rescue owners are taking in more dogs, and the expenses are piling up.

My question to other rescue groups and foster Mom's and Dad's on here is this......do your foster homes pay for the vetting out of their own pockets, and how long do you expect the foster homes to wait to be re-imbursed?

All replies are welcomed, and all view points are welcomed on this question.

Thanks

Kintail
Old January 26th, 2005, 01:45 PM
Senior Contributor

Hi and welcome to the board! Sounds like you'll fit right in here.

Your question:
Quote:
do your foster homes pay for the vetting out of their own pockets,
The answer: NO. NEVER.