Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old May 27th, 2006, 09:10 AM

How do you introduce your pup dog into training!

Could I get some advice on training my dog, I can never get her attention like if I was out in an open feild with her, I have never done this before so i am a willing learner. I need to know certain basics like what "command" to start with, "treats or meat", Has anybody been ever trained a GSD and how?

I feel its best if i start now. is she too young at 5 1/2 months for basic to hard training.....?
Old May 27th, 2006, 12:15 PM
Senior Contributor

Is there anywhere near you where you could take her to school? Puppy classes are great, they learn basics such as sit, down, stay and healing. They also learn how to be with other dogs and distractions. Comming when called is a hard one but something they need to learn so they can have the freedom to run and be trusted to come back to you.

I have my current foster a 3 and a half yr old in school now, he is also a GSD, he has been picking things up very fast, I think it was more me that needed the training than him, he loves going and it is good for both of us, it helps to have a trainers direction.
Old May 27th, 2006, 01:07 PM
ZooKeeper aka Mom

come and sit are good ones to start with. when she learns sit, you move to down and for treats, it can be whatever she really likes. If she knows you have a treat that she loves, the getting attention is easier.

Have her on a long lead and call her name with a slight tug on the laed to get her attention.

When she does what you want, big smile treat and tons of praise. make it an awesome experience for her to obey you.

And 5.5 m is not too soon to start.