Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time! > Senior dogs

Old April 28th, 2010, 09:15 PM

Small red lump under dog's anus

I have a 12 year old terrier who suddenly developed a small, but raised, pea-sized, red lump located one centimetre under his anus. It is sitting directly under the anus and is not favoring either side. It's also red and bleeding, I suspect from irritation. I have noticed him scooting but he has been having normal bowel movements, is active as normal, eats and drinks like normal too. I have also tried manually expressing the anal glands but very little came out. It is my first time attempting it myself so I don't know if I'm doing it wrong.

I've called the vet and the appointment is next week but in the mean time, what could this be? I'm especially concerned because he is an older dog. Thanks for any insight.
Old April 29th, 2010, 06:11 AM
-

Welcome to the board Lirna. Lumps and bumps are always scary aren't they? Hopefully it's nothing more serious than an irritation from scooting or a simple hemorrhoid.

p.s. would love to see pix of your little guy too! Lots of fans of the seniors on this board.

Last edited by mummummum; April 29th, 2010 at 06:12 AM. Reason: desperate plea from a pix addict
Old April 29th, 2010, 03:38 PM

Thanks for the well wishes, mummummum. I am hoping it is something harmless too. At this point, and after some research it looks like it could be a perianal adenoma or a perianal adenocarcinoma. I'm hoping for the non-cancerous former. It's odd that he would get one given that he's been neutered since he was 7 months old. I never thought I'd ever say this but, I wish it was a hemorroid instead. Just hoping for some news that is not bad.

I'll see about getting a picture of him when things settle down a bit. Thank you again.
Old April 29th, 2010, 06:00 PM
-