Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Other pet critters - Birds, fish, rabbits, reptiles, rodents and exotics > Amphibians - rabbits - reptiles - rodents - exotics

Old April 3rd, 2009, 06:42 PM

Newbie's inquiries

Hello everyone, long time reader, first time poster here!

Here's my situation: I'm a 21-year old college student looking to adopt a pet sometime after this semester's over. I read a lot (and I mean a LOT) about different pets, from snakes to fennecs to ants and dogs. And since it would be my first pet ever, I narrowed it down quite a bit. Originally I wanted a rabbit which seems really cool but quite a commitment considering it's a first pet. So it would be either a rat or a gerbil, something like that. A few questions:

1- Just double checking, are these good choices?

2- With the appropriate amount of attention, what kind of bonding can I expect from small rodents anyway?

thank you in advance for the help
Old April 4th, 2009, 05:10 PM
-

I used to bring the Rats home for the weekend when I was at school, I found them to be quite friendly and tame and they really liked human companionship.

Gerbils I know nothing about.
Old April 5th, 2009, 11:03 AM
Skylar's Farm

Hello KK, and welcome!
A good first pet is a hamster, rat, or guinea pig. Gerbils are cute, but a bit more jumpy.
Guinea pigs will need more cage cleaning than a hamster or rat, but it's up to you.
If you get a rat, try to get a young male and handle it every day. They are super smart and can even do tricks.
Whichever one you decide on, do your research and don't use cedar chips as bedding for any rodent.
Good Luck.
Old April 6th, 2009, 12:53 PM

Hi,