Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Dog training - dog behavior

Old October 22nd, 2009, 12:40 PM

Need advice on training a greyhound

Hi, I am a new instructor in obedience. I have a new student with a 7 year old adopted greyhound. Came from racing. My student wants to get her dog certified to take her dog to nursing homes. This is a really nice dog. So other wise she needs to be obedient trained. Getting to my problem. I have never had a greyhound in my class and don't know a lot about them, Am doing homework. This lady told me that her dog will NOT sit. She said it was trained not to sit, with electric shock. I guess this is something they do to racing dogs? I never heard of this, but I'm still learning myself. Now I have to retrain this dog to sit. I have instructed her on how to help ease the dog into a sit. And told her to use lots and lots of praise and bait. My question is. Does any one here have any suggestions on how to help me with this, as the dog is scared to sit. And anymore info. on why greyhounds don't sit. I understand they have little behinds. Help me understand? Thank you.
Old October 22nd, 2009, 12:48 PM
Senior Contributor

Many greyhounds that are retired from the race track have never 'learned' sit. However, it's also structurally more difficult for them due to their body structure and some greyhounds find it quite painful.

My reccomendation would be to teach the dog to lie down, instead of sitting. As a fellow trainer, we need to take into consideration the breed we are dealing with first and foremost. Unless requested by a client, I reccomend all greyhounds be taught 'down' instead of 'sit' for this reason, and even then I am teaching the dog a 'trick'. It is not a natural position for them, unlike other breeds.

Bailey (Labradoodle)
Tippy (Collie/ShepX)
Vali (American Bulldog)
Artiro (Cane Corso)
Old October 22nd, 2009, 03:12 PM