Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > General Forum for cats and dogs

Old November 16th, 2003, 10:38 AM

How do I get my dog to stop licking so much

Hello. I'm new to this, so if I make a mistake I'm sorry. My question is this:I have a pit bull. He's constantly licking people and my other dogs. How do I get him to stop his licking. He's a very friendly dog. When we took him to the vet, she said it's normal. My other dogs don't do that. So if anyone has any suggestions for me, please let me know.
Thank You.
Old November 16th, 2003, 11:42 AM
Senior Contributor

I have a pit bull too - they are usually big-time lickers! They are also lap dogs (mine is, even at 70 lbs)

If the licking is out of hand, I might suggest this: Have a treat or toy in your hand.

Let him lick for a few seconds, then say "ENOUGH!" loudly enough to startle him so the licking stops.

The instant he stops, and looks at you, stuff the treat or toy in his mouth and praise him.

With the other dogs, leave his leash on and let him drag it. If he starts licking them, pick up the leash, give a SMALL correction (just enough to get his attention) and use the "Enough!" and treat.

Eventually, just the word "enough" spoken normally should stop him.

Is he a puppy? What other dogs do you have? Do you have a pic?
Old November 16th, 2003, 12:44 PM

he's not a puppy, he's 2yr.old. My husband got him for me 2 yrs. ago for Mother's Day (in was in 2001). I also have a German Shepard (he'll be 3 in Dec.), and a mixed breed (which I also think is part pit bull) I don't know how old he is. My husband rescued him from his work. They were going to put the mixed breed down, so my husband brought him home. My pit bull also chews on my german shepard's ear, is that normal. How old is your pit bull? Our pit bull is very friendly he's excellent around our children. How do I send you a picture of him?