Go Back   Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca > Discussion Groups - mainly cats and dogs > Off topic forum > Tech talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 19th, 2008, 08:52 PM
Frenchy's Avatar
Frenchy Frenchy is offline
-
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Quebec
Posts: 30,227
tv question

I installed my second TV (that I never use) in my solarium today , I have Bell Express Vu on the main TV because that's the only way you can get cable here in the boonies. The second tv is not hooked up to the satellite. I had a small antenna and just broke it , don't even know if it would have worked .... because I can't get any channels now on the second tv. So , for those of you who don't have cable , what do you use to get basic free channels ? Do the tv antennas that you hook up on the tv work ? (the ones you buy in electronic stores)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 19th, 2008, 09:30 PM
Winston's Avatar
Winston Winston is offline
Mom of 3 precious Angels
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 7,074
Frenchy you could try a coat hanger..the metal ones...bend it around so that it is like an antenna...then try to hook it up to the back of your tv where the antenna would be hooked up..

I dont know how to do it but could you not split your satelite..you know how poeple used to buy a splitter for their tv..they could drill in through the wall and split the coax connection?



Cindy
__________________
Tabitha April 10, 1995 - August 23, 2013
Bomber April 10, 1995 - July 12, 2010
Winston Nov 15, 1999 - September 15, 2011
Sophie Aug 30, 2011

"UNTIL ONE HAS LOVED AN ANIMAL, PART OF THEIR SOUL REMAINS UNAWAKENED"
He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
-Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 19th, 2008, 09:39 PM
duttypaws's Avatar
duttypaws duttypaws is offline
head in the clouds
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond
Posts: 464
Frenchy im in the middle of Montreal but the TV i had in my old apartment was a simple ariel that stuck on top and I got 3/4 free channels rather clear as far as I know with no cable you should have 6 channes minus an ariel.
__________________
(>'.'<) "Princess" Lola ~ 5yrs black and white long hair
(>'.'<) PoppyCat ~ 6 yrs grey and white short hair
(>'.'<) Buffy ~ 14 yrs Calico
(>'.'<) Zena ~ 14 yrs Calico long hair
& Hugo ~ 10 yrs GBGV
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 19th, 2008, 09:42 PM
jealma's Avatar
jealma jealma is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ontario
Posts: 375
HI,

Go to the store and get yourself a splitter ( any hardware store) and enough cowax cable to reach your other t.v. The splitter has an input and 2 outputs.
( you actually need two short peice of cowax to run from the bell receiver to the input on the splitter and the second short peice that goes from the out put on the splitter to your main t.v) Now take your long peice of cowax. attach it to your second output and run it to your 2nd t.v,, vala,, you now can watch your t.v,, but you will have to watch what ever channel you have it on on your main t.v.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 19th, 2008, 10:47 PM
want4rain's Avatar
want4rain want4rain is offline
Swift Tribe
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 2,445
also, dont know abotu CA but in the US those bunny ears wont get you anything next year although right now they will do the job!!

-ash
__________________
Pastafarians Unite!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8z1buym2xUM

Swift Tribe-
Chris- Husband, 04/30/77
Cailyn- Daughter, 07/05/99
Jeffrey- Son, 03/24/06
Alex- Son, 03/25/09
Mister- Black LabX, M, 08/06(?)
The Shadow Stalker- Gray Tux DSH, M, 04/04
The Mighty Hunter- Black Tux DSH, M, 04/04
Baby Girl- Tabby DMH, F, 12/03(?)
Frances- Tortie, DSH, F, 2007(?)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 20th, 2008, 02:54 PM
Frenchy's Avatar
Frenchy Frenchy is offline
-
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Quebec
Posts: 30,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by want4rain View Post
also, dont know abotu CA but in the US those bunny ears wont get you anything next year although right now they will do the job!!

-ash
That's what I was thinking , getting bunny ears. But why won't they work next year in US ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 21st, 2008, 02:54 AM
rainbow's Avatar
rainbow rainbow is offline
-
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Beautiful BC's Kootenay Country
Posts: 34,759
I don't think they will work in Canada either. It's something to do with all signals being digital and no analog any more.

I don't really understand it all myself so I hope someone can explain in easy to understand language cuz I'd like to know too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 20th, 2008, 02:52 PM
Frenchy's Avatar
Frenchy Frenchy is offline
-
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Quebec
Posts: 30,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by jealma View Post
HI,

Go to the store and get yourself a splitter ( any hardware store) and enough cowax cable to reach your other t.v.
That's exactly what I don't want I already have all the gear , use to put cable on second tv when I lived in appartment. But I just want the basic stations on the second tv.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Forum Terms of Use

  • All Bulletin Board Posts are for personal/non-commercial use only.
  • Self-promotion and/or promotion in general is prohibited.
  • Debate is healthy but profane and deliberately rude posts will be deleted.
  • Posters not following the rules will be banned at the Admins' discretion.
  • Read the Full Forum Rules

Forum Details

  • Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
    Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    vBulletin Optimisation by vB Optimise (Reduced on this page: MySQL 0%).
  • All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.