Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Tech talk (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   tv question (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=51601)

Frenchy April 19th, 2008 07:52 PM

tv question
 
I installed my second TV (that I never use) in my solarium today , I have Bell Express Vu on the main TV because that's the only way you can get cable here in the boonies. The second tv is not hooked up to the satellite. I had a small antenna and just broke it , don't even know if it would have worked .... because I can't get any channels now on the second tv. So , for those of you who don't have cable , what do you use to get basic free channels ? Do the tv antennas that you hook up on the tv work ? (the ones you buy in electronic stores)

Winston April 19th, 2008 08:30 PM

Frenchy you could try a coat hanger..the metal ones...bend it around so that it is like an antenna...then try to hook it up to the back of your tv where the antenna would be hooked up..

I dont know how to do it but could you not split your satelite..you know how poeple used to buy a splitter for their tv..they could drill in through the wall and split the coax connection?



Cindy

duttypaws April 19th, 2008 08:39 PM

Frenchy im in the middle of Montreal but the TV i had in my old apartment was a simple ariel that stuck on top and I got 3/4 free channels rather clear as far as I know with no cable you should have 6 channes minus an ariel.

jealma April 19th, 2008 08:42 PM

HI,

Go to the store and get yourself a splitter ( any hardware store) and enough cowax cable to reach your other t.v. The splitter has an input and 2 outputs.
( you actually need two short peice of cowax to run from the bell receiver to the input on the splitter and the second short peice that goes from the out put on the splitter to your main t.v) Now take your long peice of cowax. attach it to your second output and run it to your 2nd t.v,, vala,, you now can watch your t.v,, but you will have to watch what ever channel you have it on on your main t.v.

want4rain April 19th, 2008 09:47 PM

also, dont know abotu CA but in the US those bunny ears wont get you anything next year although right now they will do the job!!

-ash

Frenchy April 20th, 2008 01:52 PM

[QUOTE=jealma;582291]HI,

Go to the store and get yourself a splitter ( any hardware store) and enough cowax cable to reach your other t.v. [/QUOTE]

That's exactly what I don't want :laughing: I already have all the gear , use to put cable on second tv when I lived in appartment. But I just want the basic stations on the second tv. :shrug:

Frenchy April 20th, 2008 01:54 PM

[QUOTE=want4rain;582295]also, dont know abotu CA but in the US those bunny ears wont get you anything next year although right now they will do the job!!

-ash[/QUOTE]

That's what I was thinking , getting bunny ears. But why won't they work next year in US ? :confused:

rainbow April 21st, 2008 01:54 AM

I don't think they will work in Canada either. It's something to do with all signals being digital and no analog any more. :shrug: :confused:

I don't really understand it all myself so I hope someone can explain in easy to understand language cuz I'd like to know too. :o

Love4himies April 21st, 2008 06:03 AM

I think Canada is changing to digital a year after the US.

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 11:22 AM

[QUOTE=rainbow;582772]I don't think they will work in Canada either. It's something to do with all signals being digital and no analog any more. :shrug: :confused:

I don't really understand it all myself so I hope someone can explain in easy to understand language cuz I'd like to know too. :o[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE=Love4himies;582785]I think Canada is changing to digital a year after the US.[/QUOTE]

So that mean if people don't get cable or satellite , they don't get anything on TV ? :wall:

Chris21711 April 21st, 2008 11:26 AM

I think it is in 2010 that we are changing which is a bummer because when the satellite goes on the blink we just change to antenna and get out usual five channels that we lived with for years. It's all a big money grab, what else is new.

I have a set of bunny ears if you want them Frenchy :)

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 11:38 AM

[QUOTE=Chris21711;582868]
I have a set of bunny ears if you want them Frenchy :)[/QUOTE]

It's going to cost more to ship them here than to buy bunny ears :laughing: but thank you. I will try the coat hanger thing , (after I strip the wood from it :rolleyes: ) I know I know , use the metal ones :laughing:

OnelnAMiII25 April 21st, 2008 11:42 AM

I'm sure you won't want to do this (b/c its a lot of work and i think expensive) but here in the US we use an Off-Air Antenna to get our local channels. I have Directv, and to get our High Def local channels we need one, but it also picks up the standard channels. An Off-Air ant is like bunny ears for the outside of your house. My boyfriend works for DirecTV, thats the only reason why i know this. For this also to work, you would have to live close enough to were the TV stations broadcast. Good luck tho!! :D

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 11:51 AM

[QUOTE=OnelnAMiII25;582879] you would have to live close enough to were the TV stations broadcast. Good luck tho!! :D[/QUOTE]

I'm pretty sure I can get some american channels , I'm 20 minutes from the U.S. border :D

Elizabeth Ann April 21st, 2008 11:57 AM

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) in May announced analog over-the-air broadcasts will be shut off and replaced by digital on Aug. 31, 2011.

phoozles April 21st, 2008 11:58 AM

Frenchy, I have Bell Express Vu too (also live in the boonies), and I know that you can get a second box for your other TV for just $3 a month.. not sure if that would be easier than your crazy contraptions! :laughing: Then you'll have all the channels on the second TV.

I think you can get a connection for the second TV through your satellite, but you'll have to watch the same thing that's on the original TV. :shrug:

Yeah, after a year or so, I'm pretty sure antennas aren't going to work anywhere - heaven forbid people get free TV anymore! :rolleyes:

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 12:04 PM

[QUOTE=phoozles;582893]Frenchy, I have Bell Express Vu too (also live in the boonies), and I know that you can get a second box for your other TV for just $3 a month.. [/QUOTE]

Bell express vu won't get more money from me , not even $3.00 :frustrated: I have enough prolem with their :censored: invoice system :frustrated:

Winston April 21st, 2008 12:09 PM

[QUOTE=Frenchy;582877]It's going to cost more to ship them here than to buy bunny ears :laughing: but thank you. I will try the coat hanger thing , (after I strip the wood from it :rolleyes: ) I know I know , use the metal ones :laughing:[/QUOTE]

Frenchy, the coat hanger shouldnt be a problem.....just have Nelly chew the wood off like she does the wood around your windows! :laughing:

Cindy

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 12:12 PM

[QUOTE=Winston;582897]Frenchy, the coat hanger shouldnt be a problem.....just have Nelly chew the wood off like she does the wood around your windows! :laughing:

Cindy[/QUOTE]

:laugh: Nelly would like you :)

hazelrunpack April 21st, 2008 02:55 PM

[QUOTE=phoozles;582893]Frenchy, I have Bell Express Vu too (also live in the boonies), and I know that you can get a second box for your other TV for just $3 a month.. not sure if that would be easier than your crazy contraptions! :laughing: Then you'll have all the channels on the second TV.

I think you can get a connection for the second TV through your satellite, but you'll have to watch the same thing that's on the original TV. :shrug:

Yeah, after a year or so, I'm pretty sure antennas aren't going to work anywhere - heaven forbid people get free TV anymore! :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

Digital will work now--all you need is a converter for your analog sets. It's about $80 for a box...and there are rebates being offered. Once you buy the box, digital channels will come in just like the analog channels will. If we ever get off our butts here and get our converter box, we'll go up from two analog channels to about 6 digital ones--maybe more depending on signal strength. :shrug: So even after the changeover, if you have a digital TV or an analog TV with the converter, you'll still be getting 'free' TV. :thumbs up

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 07:36 PM

It's working :D I took the antenna that was on my old radio system (shape like a "T" and made of plastic) and tried it on the TV I'm getting about 4-5 american channels + a couple more of the canadian ones , woohoo ! :thumbs up

Winston April 21st, 2008 07:51 PM

Woo hoo! Now Nelly will have to eat the window frame instead!! :laughing:

Cindy

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 07:54 PM

[QUOTE=Winston;583161]Woo hoo! Now Nelly will have to eat the window frame instead!! :laughing:

Cindy[/QUOTE]

shuuutttt ! [SIZE="1"]she has not been crated for the past 10 days and doing great :angel:[/SIZE]

hazelrunpack April 21st, 2008 08:22 PM

[QUOTE=Frenchy;583143]It's working :D I took the antenna that was on my old radio system (shape like a "T" and made of plastic) and tried it on the TV I'm getting about 4-5 american channels + a couple more of the canadian ones , woohoo ! :thumbs up[/QUOTE]

You get 2-3 more American channels than hazel does... :o :laughing: That's kinda :crazy:! :p

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 08:30 PM

[QUOTE=hazelrunpack;583181]You get 2-3 more American channels than hazel does... :o :laughing: That's kinda :crazy:! :p[/QUOTE]

You'll have to move here with the pack :crazy:

hazelrunpack April 21st, 2008 09:06 PM

[QUOTE=Frenchy;583188]You'll have to move here with the pack :crazy:[/QUOTE]

And waste the rest of my life glued to your TV set, fascinated by the abundance of channels available! :laughing:

Frenchy April 21st, 2008 09:10 PM

[QUOTE=hazelrunpack;583226]And waste the rest of my life glued to your TV set, fascinated by the abundance of channels available! :laughing:[/QUOTE]

:laughing: wait till you try the TV in my living room (satellite) gazillion channels and nothing on :laughing:

Actually , now that I know I can get a few channels with an EL CHEAPO antenna , I might cancel the satellite. :shrug: I don't watch tv that much :shrug:

hazelrunpack April 21st, 2008 09:15 PM

When we moved out of the cable district and ended up with just the two channels, we barely missed cable. Hubby always used to laugh that when we first got cable we went from 5 channels of crap to 70+ channels of crap. So now, with just two, we're way ahead of the game! :laughing:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.