Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Breed characteristics and traits (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Boxer/Pittie X (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=50158)

Chris21711 March 5th, 2008 11:59 AM

Boxer/Pittie X

What satisfaction do animal control get from posting a picture of a stray as a Pittie X, when they could just post her as a BoxerX although I think and I'm no expert that she could be a Dane X. Any opinions?

[url]www.petfinder.com/petnote/displaypet.cgi?petid=10328688[/url]

jiorji March 5th, 2008 12:03 PM

well it's petfinder..i don't think (i HOPE) none of the people on there have malicious views on pitts.

but in shelters, dogs are "mislabelled" ALL the time. Like you can see a tricolored dog that's labelled as a shepherd when clearly it's a Bernese cross.

Love4himies March 5th, 2008 12:30 PM

Maybe that elimates any future liability.:shrug:

pitgrrl March 5th, 2008 12:35 PM

I too would have put that dog as a APBT/Boxer cross. I have two and they look very much like that guy.

I'm personally of the opinion that it's a [I]really[/I] bad idea to intentionally mark a dog as something other than a APBT cross when that is likely the case. With BSL, breed specific traits, attitudes you might encounter in the public, with family and friends, etc. I'd want someone to be d*mn sure they're prepared for everything their signing up for with a pit bull or pit bull cross. In Ontario there's obviously specific of that situation to consider, but it still seems sketchy to knowingly misidentify a dog that is up for adoption.

clm March 5th, 2008 12:45 PM

It may be done to discourage people in areas where there are breed specific bans from applying to adopt the dog.