Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Dog training - dog behavior (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   How to get my beagle puppy to stop barking all day? (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=24206)

Pamz1e February 22nd, 2006 05:16 PM

How to get my beagle puppy to stop barking all day?

I have a 7 month beagle named Picasso that likes to bark atleast 2 hours a day while i am at work. i live in an apartment building and this is getting problematic for my nieghbour. Picasso has to stay in the kitchen with a guard because im an artist and my work is all over and he can get hurt if i let him chew on everything. I also have a cat (which [B]might[/B] be one of the reasons he's barking - he can see him through the guard) and Picasso would terrorize my kitty if i let him out. I've been leaving the radio on, giving him kongs, leaving the apartment super quietly, but to no avail.
My nieghbours are in the process of filling out a legal complaint and i dont want to loose my pretty puppy, but that seems the only way out of this. I cant move, i dont have enough money. Is there anything i can do that will work right away???? i only have a few weeks, and not alot of free time.

heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeelp Picasso!!

Lucky Rescue February 22nd, 2006 05:28 PM

You did do research before getting this puppy and found out that hounds do tend to bark and howl a lot, right? It's not really fair to get a dog then get rid of it for doing what it was bred to do.

Either doggy daycare or hiring a dogwalker to come in during the day might help. I know this is expensive and not what you planned, but those are the kinds of committments we make when we bring a pet home.

Lissa February 22nd, 2006 06:06 PM

Unfortunately, there are no quick fixes to this kind of behaviour. Lucky's given you a couple of good options!