Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   General Forum for cats and dogs (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Won't come in house (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=5593)

Freyja July 16th, 2004 01:26 AM

Won't come in house

Hi,
I am new to list and new to dog ownership. This is my first ever dog. I have a 10mos Shepherd X female (Lindy) that I got from a shelter two days ago. She was rescued from a reserve and has an unknown history. I don't know if she is housebroken, she will sit, and lie down she is doing not too badly on leash but has started to pull a bit. She has been a bit nippy with us (me and the two kids) which we are working on. When I brought her home yesterday she refused to come in the house. I got her in by pulling but she crawled across the floor and was not happy! She slept outside in her crate last night. Tonight she is in her crate in the garage because of the rain and thunderstorm. I have read that outside dogs are not as well socialized as inside dogs so I don't really want to let her be an outside dog. Any suggestions?
Thanks
Jane :confused: :eek:

badger July 16th, 2004 01:37 AM

Not to generalize, but from my own experience (Pacific Northwest) reserve dogs are mainly outside dogs. In some cases this means tied up, ignored, underfed and just plain abused. I'm guessing this dog isn't used to being inside a house, period, and it represents something very scary for him (perhaps the source of previous abuse?). In addition to some careful training, he will need plenty of TLC. Don't give up!

Lucky Rescue July 16th, 2004 09:27 AM

badger is right. This dog was probably never inside a house in her life, and is totally stressed and freaking out right now.

The most important thing for a dog like this is sonsistancy. Everything at the same time ever day. Knowing what is going to happen next will help make her feel more secure.