Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Cat health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time! (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   a little kitten swollen belly (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=53409)

suzan arslan June 17th, 2008 11:54 AM

a little kitten swollen belly

hello all... im new to this thread

my name is suzan and i live in jordan middle east

2 days ago i found a little kitten who is probably 2 weeks old(still new to walking)

anyhow ... when i first got him he was very little and probbably not been fed for like 3 or 4 days

so i took him home and started feeding him milk with an eye dropper

today i noticed that his belly is swollen... it has been since it started to be fed by me but not like today...

it is a little hard as well

is it a serious problem????

i dont have access to a vet where i live now ... i should go for a t least 2 hours ride for the nearest vet ... so if u can help me and tell me what to do by my self and thanks

:)

ps: he keeps crying >> and seems always hungry... even after feeding he has this aurge to keep sucking on my thumb or biting

help plz

suzan arslan June 17th, 2008 11:57 AM

and yes forgot to tell... he dosnt poo that often ... maybe once a day ...

Love4himies June 17th, 2008 12:11 PM

Tiny kittens need help to urinate and defecate. Momma cats lick the kitten's bums to stimulate elimination.
Can you take a warm, wet cloth and gently rub his back end and see if that will stimulate him to poop and pee?

Also, I was wondering if it is kitten formula milk you are feeding him. Many cats can't have cow's milk as it makes them lactose intorant and can cause gas or bloating. Is there anyplace else that may have kitten forumula beside the vet 2 hours away?

Love4himies June 17th, 2008 12:13 PM