Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Feeding raw food to dogs & cats - B.A.R.F - RMB - Homecooked diet (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=64)
-   -   Bones (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=35245)

Catnaxis January 13th, 2007 11:56 AM

Bones

[FONT="Comic Sans MS"][SIZE="3"][COLOR="Red"] I am new to this BARF diet and the web site I read said to grind the meat up so that's what I have been doing the last 2 days but I have been reading in here and I see allot of you just throw the dog a bone with meat on it....
My husband and I are both afraid of the dogs choking on bones we have an 80 pound golden who is 7 and a 12 week old pug.
what kind of bones do you give? does it matter? what can the puppy handle?
have any of you had a bone get stuck inside a dog?and have to have it removed?[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

Scott_B January 13th, 2007 12:33 PM

Hi, welcome to the site!

Personally, I hate using the term BARF. Many raw feeders are getting away from that and just calling it raw feeding.

OK, where to begin? Raw feeding can be very simple, IE you hand your dog the food, or can get complicated with measurements, grinding and such.(not really that complicated..lol) Your choice. First starting out, many people feed chicken. Its pretty cheap and the bones soft. take a whole chicken and cut it into quarters. Your large guy could probably handle half a chicken with ease. In an adult dog, your aiming for around 2% of body weight, and in a pup, anywheres from 4-10%. Use your eyes as a judgment. If they look heavy, cut back. Too thin, feed more. Simple.