Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Dog health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time! (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Dog bit by dog? (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=65484)

jazzy September 8th, 2009 10:19 PM

Dog bit by dog?

My shiba inu pup (5 months) was playing with my friend's Siberian Husky pup (9 months). They play rough often, and we seperate the two whenever it gets too rough.

Tonight the two were playing just fine. No whining, no yelping, just the two boys having fun. Then I noticed that Jack (the Shiba) had blood on his face. The husky either bit or clawed him enough to draw blood. He doesn't react when I touch around it. It seems to be causing him no pain or discomfort. Should I be concerned? Should I see a vet?

(first time ever having a pet with injury. I'm a newbie)

hazelrunpack September 8th, 2009 10:21 PM

Did it leave a gash? Can you see the wound?

jazzy September 8th, 2009 10:29 PM

Not a gash. The spot is small...maybe 1/4 inch or more around. I can tell it's there, but can't make much out through the fur.

hazelrunpack September 8th, 2009 10:36 PM

Is it still bleeding, swollen, or hot to the touch? If not, it's probably okay to just clean up and watch for a few days. If it's more than an 1/8th or a quarter inch deep, or if you think a tooth penetrated through the thin bone of the muzzle, though, I'd take him in to the vet to have it checked asap. Bites can get infected pretty fast.

You can use peroxide to clean it up the first time--but because peroxide damages even living tissues, you should only use it the first time to clean up. Then some antibiotic ointment might be a good idea.