Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Gardening (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49)
-   -   How long do trees live (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=41660)

marko June 18th, 2007 07:27 PM

How long do trees live

Hi everyone!

There seem to be quite a number of green thumbs around here so I have a really basic question.

How long do trees live? Hundreds of years? Thousands?

Just curious...:shrug:

Thanks!

marko

Stacer June 18th, 2007 08:04 PM

Lucky for you Marko, I'm a forest technician!

How old a tree will get depends on the species of the tree. A tree such as an oak, which is a very slow growing tree will live much longer (by hundreds of years) than a tree like a poplar, which is very fast growing and might reach 100 years if it's lucky. Out west there are spruce and cedar that are hovering around 1000 years old. So it all depends on species really.

CyberKitten June 18th, 2007 09:08 PM