Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca

Pet forum for dogs cats and humans - Pets.ca (http://www.pets.ca/forum/index.php)
-   Cat health - Ask members * If your pet is vomiting-bleeding-diarrhea etc. Vet time! (http://www.pets.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=75)
-   -   Some basic questions (http://www.pets.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=56377)

globalgourmand September 10th, 2008 12:14 AM

Some basic questions

Since I'm still relatively new to having a cat, I have a few basic things that have been trolling around in my mind...

I sometimes notice my cat scratching or biting himself lightly. It's not frequent however I do notice it pretty much daily. The scratching is never vigorous or persistent or in the same spot, so I'm inclined to assume he gets normal itches just like me. But still, I'd just like to be sure. [U]Is an occasional itch normal?[/U]

He has quite an interest in my houseplants, (some of which I've had to place out-of-access due to toxicity concerns,) especially my pretty, pretty angel wing begonia. I'm pretty sure it is he who is puncturing holes in the leaves. He has also pulled leaves off my spider plant. [U]How do people satisfy their cats need/appetite for greenery aside from "catgrass?" And if you use "catgrass," do you grow your own?[/U]

Although we've bought cardboard and sisal inserts for his scratch pad, he still prefers the carpet or the couch. I've tried rubbing catnip on the scratch pad but he just rubs himself on it, drools all over it, and sleeps on it. I've wondered if its worth it to get/make a carpet insert for the pad because wouldn't he just conveniently scratch our real carpet anyhow? [U]Any tips to encouraging your cat to scratch "preferred" surfaces?[/U]