Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Need Help - Rottie needs ACL Cruciate Surgery

LuvMyRottieGurl
November 23rd, 2004, 09:28 PM
hi everyone, this is my first time to this forum, i am glad i found you all. i am hoping that you can help me and my rottie girl, Zena.

she has recently torn her acl cruciate ligament in her rear right knee and needs surgery. I am in a bad situation financially (almost divorced, single mom now left with ALOT of debt) and alot of surgeons around where i live do not want to work out payment plans.

I have been trying to get information on getting the surgery done at a veterinary school/hospital where they might do it at a cheaper rate.... can anyone give me feedback on this?

I live in Maryland but i am willing to travel just about anywhere on the east side of the U.S. if i can help my girl out.

can anyone offer any advice?

thanks in advance.

Mary

LL1
November 23rd, 2004, 09:41 PM
I know of a rescuer in Maryland who swears by an ortho vet in her area, let me try and find the contact info.

Lucky Rescue
November 23rd, 2004, 10:01 PM
There is an organization called IMOM (http://www.imom.org/) that helps people financially with vet care. You just need to provide info, documentation, etc.

Please let us know if they can help you and sorry to hear about your bad luck.

Schwinn
November 23rd, 2004, 10:35 PM
My dog had knee surgery as well. She came through it okay.

I do know that veterinarian schools here in Canada do surgeries cheaper, and to be honest, I have as much confidence in them as I do most vets. My dad had surgery on his husky who had a punctured lung, and she came out quite well.

I wish I could offer you more, but keep us up to date, and good luck!

jnes
November 24th, 2004, 02:12 AM
We had our Rottie's done right in the vet's office. It cost us about $1000 and we paid it off in 3 months. The vet used fishing line to secure the torn ligaments and she has done wonderfully well for 4 years now.

LL1