Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Firewalls

lilith_rizel
November 23rd, 2004, 05:08 PM
Does anyone use an amazing firewall? James and I are searching the web for a really good one. If anyone has information, please let us know where we can find it, and how much it costs.

Thank you,
Nicholle

CyberKitten
November 23rd, 2004, 05:18 PM
I use Zone Alarm. It's about $69 US (you are in US right?) and you can purchase yearly updates.

Schwinn
November 23rd, 2004, 05:22 PM
I use one that came with my router. I networked my desktop with my wife's laptop. It seems to work fine. The only fear I have with downloading one is getting one with "evil code", where the person who programmed it, made sure they can get onto your computer. I have a friend who does networks, and he tells me that the one that comes with XP isn't that good, either. I would trust Norton, but I know they aren't cheap.

louie's mum
November 23rd, 2004, 09:50 PM
u can use Zone Alarm free version as well. works great.
if u use Windows XP, the SP2 update includes additional firewall protection. u don't even have to use zone alarm after u do the update.
good luck.

here's the link to zone alarm where u can compare their products including the free version ...

http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/comparison.jsp?lid=ho_za (http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/comparison.jsp?lid=ho_za)

badger
November 23rd, 2004, 10:02 PM
I have XP Home and heard that the SP2 update was buggy. Have you had any problems?

Writing4Fun
November 23rd, 2004, 10:18 PM
I use one that came with my router. I networked my desktop with my wife's laptop. It seems to work fine.
Yeah, we did that too. We hardwired the whole house. Are you wireless?

I know EBS Notebooks sells Norton AntiVirus pretty cheap. Don't know what else they might have lying around. Might be worth a look-see.

XP Home - ugh! We installed that on our machines - ripped it right out again. Reinstalled '98. Call me when they get the danged thing figured out, okay? :p

louie's mum
November 23rd, 2004, 10:58 PM
i use XP Pro (not sure if that makes a difference) .... and have had absolutely no problems. when i installed, i kept 98 on hard drive (dual boot machine) just in case, but haven't had to revert to it.
i was leary of doing SP2 update as well and waited for a tech friend to give me the go ahead. waited a few months, did it, totally seamless. no problems, no complaints.
i can understand why u stay with 98 tho.
try zone alarm ... works like a charm.

Sneaky2006
November 24th, 2004, 04:30 PM
We downloaded SP2 which comes with a firewall, we already had McAfee (with firewall) running and with both running my machine was so messed up! I couldn't even access the internet. I do not have SP2 now and it's going to stay that way till all the bugs are worked out.

Schwinn
November 24th, 2004, 05:05 PM
Yeah, we did that too. We hardwired the whole house. Are you wireless?

I know EBS Notebooks sells Norton AntiVirus pretty cheap. Don't know what else they might have lying around. Might be worth a look-see.

XP Home - ugh! We installed that on our machines - ripped it right out again. Reinstalled '98. Call me when they get the danged thing figured out, okay? :p

I'm hardwired into my desktop, and wireless for the laptop. It's pretty cool, I was out in the driveway using schematics from the internet to fix the Jeep! If we could just get the stupid notice that pops up every time the signal strength changes. I got a friend who has a networking company to set up our firewall. One day we were shutting the computer off, and we got a notice "There is someone still logged on through the network. Are you sure you want to shut down?" GYAAGH! SHUT DOWN! SHUT DOWN! We just changed the passwords, and haven't had a problem since.

I also just found this link:

http://compnetworking.about.com/od/wirelesssecurity/tp/wifisecurity.htm

Terrie
November 24th, 2004, 05:26 PM
Hi
I have XP SP2 Firewall, Norton and Sygate ( downloaded free from the internet ) Sygate is very good because you can test it for attacks, I usually test it in Stealth mode once a month and Sygate tries to get into your IP's.
If it can get in, Norton stops them....

Never can be too protected !

Writing4Fun
November 24th, 2004, 08:30 PM
We used to get that wierd message all the time, even though we're totally wired. Haven't gotten it in a while, though (knock on wood). I'm so afraid of wireless, ever since that guy was caught sitting in his car, naked, stealing someone's wireless signal to download porn.

Don't you guys run into problems with various protection programs attacking each other? We had an issue with Norton Systemworks trying to clean out MacAffee virus scan.