Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Tuna

coonlover
November 19th, 2004, 02:59 PM
Can I give tuna in water to my cats for a treat?? They go crazy when I open a can.

Donna Marie
November 19th, 2004, 03:03 PM
I have been told that tuna is bad for cats....I don't have the info on hand, but I am sure someone can back me up on this.

schnauzerlove
November 19th, 2004, 03:06 PM
I think (not sure) that too much tuna is bad for all 2 and 4 legged creatures because of the mercury content?! Correct me if I'm wrong. :)

GsdDiamond
November 19th, 2004, 03:10 PM
A friend of mine gives her cat a can a tuna a week, and she hasn't seen any adverse reactions with the cat, other than weight gain. Tuna, in larger quantities is very high in protien and causes weight gain, and high levels of mercury.

That being said, even though I'm no cat expert, I would think on a very infrequent basis it should be ok. Just like it's ok for people in smaller quantities.

sujean
November 19th, 2004, 05:03 PM
i too have heard that large amounts of tuna for cats is bad-mercury and weight gain.

however, my 4 cats get 1 can of tuna to share once a month and i have not seen any problems and no weight gain. only stinky poop the next couple of days...

it is definately a nice treat for kitty every once in a while.

i have also heard that the tuna in oil in ok in small quantites-the oil in the tuna is good for their coats. but i stick to the tuna in water. don't want to take a chance of the cats getting fat on the oil.

Sneaky2006
November 19th, 2004, 05:06 PM
I give my cats tuna almost every time we have some, although not a whole can. If we don't give them any, we give them the juice from it, they love it!
I heard tuna in dry cat food was bad... but not the real stuff...

CyberKitten
November 19th, 2004, 05:39 PM