Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

I am totally devastated!!

kathmerkin
November 3rd, 2004, 02:58 PM
This past Saturday I was running around doing a million things, and my youngest kitty crawled into the clothes dryer while i was emptying the lint trap (she would hide in the back.. LOVED the dryer and crawled in often).. and I started it and went out to see a baby (I'm a visiting nurse) when I got back and started to fold the clothes I found my beloved kitty (one year old only). She did not survive, as I hear they usually don't I totally freaked out and have cried off and on for days, This was the most horrible thing I have EVER experienced. I am a Pediatric Nurse who LOVES animals and I have had 3 cats and a dog for a while. Has this ever happened to anyone else here? I don't know how I can ever get over the huge amount of guilt and pain I feel over this.. I can't stop thinking about it and it is haunting me day and night... I feel SO TERRIBLE!! Kathie

GsdDiamond
November 3rd, 2004, 03:05 PM
Even though I have not been through such a traumatic experience, I can still sympathize at how you must feel. To lose a loved member of the family, at such a young age, under such tragic circumstances, is the worst thing that can happen to a pet lover.

It's in a cat's nature, as you're well aware, to seek out warm spots. I highly doubt there's anything you could have done to prevent this from happening. In time you'll think back on the fond memories of finding her all warm and content from having hid in such a good hiding spot. I know it's no consolation, but try to think that she passed doing what she loved to do.

I wish there was something else I could say, other than I'm sorry for your loss. Perhaps it would make you feel better if you were to talk to a therapist to help with your grief.

Dukieboy
November 3rd, 2004, 03:10 PM