Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Flea Control

m_apol
October 26th, 2004, 03:14 PM
I'm just new to owning a pet, I got her from a rescue and she has fleas. The vet gave her medicine plus topical meds last Saturday. I saw a couple of fleas yesterday! I'm taking her to a groomer this Saturday for a flea bath and hopefully will be able to clean the place while she's gone. Any tips on how to get rid of fleas at home?

krdahmer
October 26th, 2004, 05:44 PM
Wash any towels and bedding....and the vets and possibly groomers have a spray that you can use on carpets and sofas etc. I used one called VetChem, and since treating the cats,kittens and house have not seen a flea since! Also you may want to get a flea comb and comb through to get rid of the 'dead bodies', I combed them out for a few days after the Revolution treatment and made sure they were dead by rinsing the comb in soapy water every time I caught one.
Oh and don't worry the heeby jeebies do go away....LOL (if you are as disgusted by bugs as I am!)

melanie
October 26th, 2004, 06:25 PM
fleas breed in dusty areas so make sure you vacume those corners wel land under beds, i find this really helps with breaking the breeding pattern.

m_apol
October 27th, 2004, 12:57 PM
I am soooo grossed out by them, I actually sa a larva! ahhhhhh! VetChem? Where do I get that? I heard Raid Flea Killer is good, and you can spray it directly to dogs. She had some medications for fleas, I'm taking her to the groomer to get a flea bath and while she's there, I am cleaning the whole apt inside out. How do you maintain Flea-Free? Is it even possible?

Karin
October 27th, 2004, 08:30 PM