Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Barking for Attention

Ling
October 6th, 2004, 03:29 PM
Hi there - I'm new to this so bear with me if I post to the wrong section or what not.
We got a puppy about a month and a half ago and I've been lucky to have a boss that has allowed me to bring her to work with me. She's usually really good - just hangs out, sleeps while I work but in the past week or so she gets a little bossy and barks / howls (she's part hound) to get attention. Usually just after I put her back into her "bed" (crate) after a pee / walk or lunch time - after she finishes with her Kong or buscuit ball or whatever I gave her. Only for about 2 - 5 minutes before she settles down but I heard my boss asking my co workers if she's becoming a nuisance and I'm worried that he'll make me start leaving her at home if she keeps it up.
We do a 15 minute walk and 10 minute fetch in the morning and a 45 minute walk during lunch with another 10 minutes tug / fetch play time. (Plus another 45 minute walk after work.) Is this not enough to tire her out? She's a coonhound / border collie mix - just over 4 months now. She seems to get tuckered and fall right asleep as soon as she stops.
Any suggestions on how to teach her to be quiet on command?
I've tried the gently grabbing the muzzle and quietly telling her to "shhh" when she's loud. It works at home, but not while I'm at work. I've also tried banging on the back of the crate where she can't see me and draping a towel over the crate so she can't see me when she's loud. Not working.

Thanks for any input.

Sneaky2006
October 6th, 2004, 04:58 PM
I do not have a dog, but I have read some interesting stuff about dogs barking on this board... one thread was pretty recent.
All I can remember was a collar that sprayed citronella (a scent dogs don't like?) when the dog barks, making it stop.
Or a noise type thing that plays a sound only a dog can hear when it barks.