Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Heat after spaying.

GoreyDemented
January 4th, 2011, 10:41 AM
I posted a thread months ago regarding worrying about my cat's, Toby, upcoming spaying procedure. She healed up well and is mostly a lovely lady.

Lately, and by lately I mean the last month, she has started going into heat again. She's had two heat cycles now, 2 weeks apart. She has become even more vocal then before she was spayed. I am concerned because I was under the impression spaying her would stop that behaviour.

Also, she's starting to drive me crazy. She wakes me up super early with her yowling. Should I take her to the vet? I'm a poor student but I'll do what is right for my pets.

Thank you!

14+kitties
January 4th, 2011, 11:26 AM
IMO I would be contacting the vet where she was spayed and asking for a recheck. It is possible that a small section of tissue was missed during surgery and that is what is causing her to act this way. They will have to re-spay her if that is the case. Was she in heat when she was spayed?
A few other things to consider - Has she had a complete health check lately? She may have something else bothering her that you are taking as a heat cycle but isn't. How old is she? Had she had a heat cycle or two before being spayed? It could be remembered behaviour from before the spay. 'Tis the season when cats would normally start to have amorous feelings. If it is learned behaviour then you may have to work on methods to correct. Is she exhibiting any other of the telltale signs of heat? Tail cocked to one side; butt up in the air while kneading with her back feet; rolling all over the floor; increased affection; etc. Is she indoor/outdoor and has been cooped up lately because of the weather. (Not that I advocate letting a cat outdoors anyway) These are all things to take into consideration.