Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Hello from Québec

Alexd92
December 16th, 2010, 10:05 PM
Hi everyone,
I'm currently a student in Cegep, plan on going to University very soon. I've started to read up on dog training and tips on how to be a better dog owner for my current and future pets. We have almost always had a dog in our family and they were all of mixed breed from a shelter.

I believe our first was a female German Shepherd mixed with collie, she was named Kelly. She was 14 when she passed, I was just a wee kid though and don't remember much about her.

A few years later we adopted another dog, Rosie. I'm not sure of all the mixes she had but I'm pretty sure she had German Shepherd as well and some ChowChow. She didn't stay long in the family. Wasn't too good with children and was taken back to the shelter. Don't know what happened to afterward but I sure hope she found a proper owner.

Last but not least, our big boy Bel (not a spelling mistake). Another German Shepherd mix but this time with Labrador. At least that's what the shelter said. We've had some people say he looked a bit like a Leonberger but nothing is sure with mutts. He's a bit over 12 years old now. The years have taken their toll on this poor guy. Always a bit hard to get up from the hardwood floor and there's no more jumping in the back of the truck. He was all small and fuzzy and cute and everything when we first saw him at the shelter, never thought he'd grow to the size that he is. Always ready for a ride in the car even though he was all bunched up. Happens with a family of 5 in a small 5 place VW Jetta. He had to lay down at the foot of the front passenger (my mom). Never whined and was always happy to hop in. Now he gets to ride in the back of the FJ Cruiser, much more comfy.