Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Thinking of Fostering

onster
November 25th, 2010, 04:44 PM
Heard through friends today that the Guelph Humane Society is looking for foster parents for kittens :lovestruck::lovestruck: and, I'm thinking why not???

What with travel plans in the summer (most likely) fostering is a good option as it should only be a few weeks...the only thing is i'll have to cut back on going home on the weekends depending on the animal I get paired up with (if I'm even accepted). My place is pet friendly and I never did end up bringing my boys with me...that and I miss having a cuddly buddy :cloud9:

I soooo wish I could foster a pup but I have no experience with dogs, so I don't think they would be okay with that. They probably wouldn't want a uni student fostering a dog too I reckon.

I still need to think on it a bit, but I'm thinking I'll be filling in an application soon :thumbs up

BenMax
November 26th, 2010, 12:32 PM
I think it's a great idea, but please ensure before doing so, that your cat is completely vaccinated for EVERYTHING before bringing home any cats or kittens from a shelter.

I think you would be an AMAZING foster mom!:thumbs up

Dog Dancer
November 26th, 2010, 12:41 PM
I think fostering is a wonderful and commendable idea, but (there's always a but right), are you really okay with not going home as much? Wouldn't that mean not getting to see Bunduk and Onnie very often? I don't know much about fostering (okay - anything) but seems to me you probably can't really say "well it's only for a few weeks" when in fact the foster cat could be with you much longer. Or is this just a short term foster for these kittens only? Certainly if you did foster you'd be wonderful.

sugarcatmom
November 26th, 2010, 02:52 PM