Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

I'm new... dealing with Feline Leukemia

cats+horse
October 26th, 2010, 09:32 AM
This is my first time here. I joined this forum because I need a lot of help and support.

Yesterday we put one of our "babies" to sleep. Yoshi was a 1 and a half year old male cat, and one of two "babies" that I rescued at 3 weeks after their mother (a barn cat where I board my horse) disappeared. We bottle-fed Yoshi and his brother Spud and raised them to be just the best cats, always affectionate, never mean or standoffish...vets always commented on how healthy they were etc. They always received prompt care and attention, and we thought we were doing everything right....but recently Yoshi had begun to lose weight and become lethargic. A blood test a few days ago revealed fluid in the chest, possible tumour, and Feline Leukemia virus. All along I had been thinking we had taken all precautions to giving them a healthy long life; I had no idea about this virus and was blissfully unaware that they had never been tested or innoculated if it is a risk!

Anyways, after spending a heart-breaking but worth it last two days with Yoshi, we let him go. We are not only grieving his loss, we are dealing with another devasting reality: Spud has also tested positive for the virus, and although he is healthy now, we know he has a bomb inside him that can go off at any time. Our 4 and a half year old cat Sherman is thankfully negative, but now we are in a position where we have to
(a) keep our last two "babies" together, and take the risk that Sherman, although he is now being vaccinated, will eventually get the disease, or
(b) find a new home for Spud that is catless so he does not spread it