Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Fairly new to the pet world and definitivly new to the board.

ShyWarrior
October 13th, 2010, 10:54 PM
Hello, I'm new at this so I apologize for my behavior if you should think it is unrelated to the category, I would like to introduce myself and my (fairly) new cat. I shall be known as Mo and my kitty cat is named DJ Von Lynx or more simply DJ or Lynx.
Recently my Lynx was diagnosed with FLUTD and since then it as been a struggle to keep my Lynx on an affordable but healthy diet. I love my cat very much but I cannot afford 6$ a day on my cat's food, this is about as much I spend on my own food. I haven't finished paying the $325 bill for the last vet appointment but I will NEVER let go of my cat. He means the world to me... Does anyone know of an affordable low PH level food I can feed him? This cat has been my best friend for the past 2 years I really want to keep him alive and well.
Mo!

sugarcatmom
October 13th, 2010, 10:59 PM
Welcome to you and Lynx. Sorry that it isn't under better circumstances.

Does anyone know of an affordable low PH level food I can feed him?

What are you feeding him now? What was he on before that?

Most any decent meat-based wet food should be adequate, no need to feed prescription foods. Here is a really excellent link that is a must read for anyone with a cat suffering from urinary tract issues: http://www.catinfo.org/?link=urinarytracthealth

Good luck!

Love4himies
October 14th, 2010, 07:15 AM
Hi Shywarrior, welcome.

Wellness food manufactures large cans of very high quality canned that cost about $3 and should be good for two days of food, depending on how much your cat eats. Even if you mix with a lower quality canned, your kitty should still be OK.

http://www.wellnesspetfood.com/recipes.aspx?pet=cat&ft=2